Notch vs Speakflow
Notch and Speakflow both give you a teleprompter that follows your voice and a desktop overlay you can use on calls. The main differences are how you pay and what else is included: Speakflow is a browser-based service with collaboration and video features, and its desktop app comes with paid subscriptions. Notch is a desktop teleprompter for Mac and Windows that you buy once for $17.99.
The short answer
Choose Notch if…
- You want a desktop teleprompter for calls for a one-time $17.99, without a subscription.
- You want voice following processed on your own computer, in six languages.
- You present on your own and don't need shared script editing.
Choose Speakflow if…
- You want a teleprompter that runs in the browser with nothing to install.
- Your team writes and comments on scripts together in real time.
- You want scripts, recorded videos and storage in one online service.
Feature comparison
| Feature | Notch | Speakflow |
|---|---|---|
| Teleprompter in the browser | Yes (free, 30 minutes a day) | Yes |
| Desktop app for Mac and Windows | Yes | Yes (beta, Plus and Studio plans) |
| Teleprompter follows your voice | Yes | Yes (limited on Free) |
| Voice following languages | Six | Not stated |
| Speech recognition on your device | Yes | Not stated |
| Hidden from screen sharing | Yes | Yes (desktop app) |
| Mark sections to jump to | No | Yes (bookmark sections, Plus) |
| Real-time script collaboration | No | Yes (Plus) |
| Video capture | No | Yes (Plus) |
| Pricing model | One-time purchase | Subscription or time-limited pass |
Speakflow facts come from Speakflow's own pricing and download pages, checked in October 2026.
Pricing
Notch: free to download and try, then Notch Teleprompter is a $17.99 one-time purchase for Mac and Windows. It covers up to 2 devices, Mac and Windows mixed, and includes future Notch Teleprompter updates. See pricing.
Speakflow:
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 |
| Plus | $19 a month | $15 a month |
| Studio | $129 a month | $99 a month |
Speakflow also offers Plus Pass, one-time access to Plus for 7, 30 or 90 days. Its pricing page doesn't list the pass prices, so check Speakflow for current offers.
When Speakflow fits better
Speakflow suits people who want to start in the browser straight away, and teams who write scripts together: Plus adds real-time collaboration, commenting, unlimited script history and video recording with storage, and Studio adds client workspaces for up to 25 members. If several people shape a script before it's delivered, or you want video and scripts in one online workspace, those features matter.
When Notch fits better
Notch suits professionals who mainly need a teleprompter on their own calls and presentations: sales demos, customer onboarding, lessons and team updates. You get voice following in English, German, Spanish, French, Italian and Portuguese, with speech recognition on your computer, and a window that sits under your webcam and stays out of screen sharing. You pay once for the teleprompter rather than every month.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between Notch and Speakflow?
Both offer a teleprompter that follows your voice and a desktop overlay for calls. Speakflow is a browser-based teleprompter with collaboration and video features, and its desktop app is included with paid plans. Notch is a desktop teleprompter for Mac and Windows that you buy once.
Is Speakflow free?
Speakflow has a free plan with the browser teleprompter, auto scrolling and limited Flow, its voice-activated scrolling. Unlimited Flow and the Overlay desktop teleprompter are part of the paid Plus plan.
Does Speakflow have a desktop app?
Yes. Speakflow's download page lists a desktop app in beta for macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel) and Windows, included with its Plus and Studio plans.
Is Speakflow hidden when I share my screen?
Speakflow's download page says its desktop app is invisible when you share. Notch is likewise hidden from screen sharing.
How much does Speakflow cost compared with Notch?
In October 2026, Speakflow Plus was listed at $19 a month billed monthly, or $15 a month billed yearly. Notch Teleprompter is a $17.99 one-time purchase for Mac and Windows.
Does Notch work in the browser like Speakflow?
Partly. The free online teleprompter at trynotch.net/teleprompter runs in the browser with no install or sign-up, and scrolls at a speed you set for up to 30 minutes a day. Voice following, staying hidden from screen sharing and reading without a daily limit need the Notch app for Mac or Windows.
Notch
Speakflow